White Rock Primary School

'Inspiring Learning Together'

White Rock Primary School

MEET THE GOVERNORS

 

The Governors at White Rock Primary School are committed to ensuring that all the children receive the best education possible. We work with the staff by supporting and challenging the Senior Leadership and by monitoring all aspects of school life.

We meet at least twice each term and are closely involved with the strategic planning of finance and curriculum. We monitor the progress of the children and have oversight of the professional performance of the staff.

We welcome comments from the parents and carers and actively seek the opinions of all staff and children.

 

                     

 Sarah Tomkinson                  Mark Glew                     Alison Down 

     Headteacher              Chair of Governors              Parent Governor

 

                            

Shaun Richards                       Jo Beer                           Guy Boosey

 Parent Governor                Parent Governor                Parent Governor

 

                      

      Sarah Jarrett                    Amber Barnett                Alistair Wylam

       Staff Governor                Co-opted Governor           Associate Member

 

         

                         Roxanna Mager                

                     Clerk to the Governors            

CONTACT DETAILS: 

  • Sarah Tomkinson stomkinson@white-rock-primary.torbay.sch.uk
  • Mark Glew mglew@white-rock-primary.torbay.sch.uk
  • Alison Down adown@white-rock-primary.torbay.sch.uk
  • Shaun Richards srichards@white-rock-primary.torbay.sch.uk
  • Jo Beer jbeer@white-rock-primary.torbay.sch.uk
  • Guy Boosey gboosey@white-rock-primary.torbay.sch.uk
  • Sarah Jarrett sjarrett@white-rock-primary.torbay.sch.uk
  • Amber Barnett abarnett@white-rock-primary.torbay.sch.uk
  • Alistair Wylam awylam@white-rock-primary.torbay.sch.uk
  • Roxanna Mager rmager@white-rock-primary.torbay.sch.uk

PEN PORTRAITS OF OUR GOVERNORS

 

Guy Boosey - Parent Governor

"I have worked in IT, management and leadership roles within the NHS since 2003. This has given me lots of transferable skills and knowledge (Governance, safeguarding, policies etc) which I hope I can use to benefit White Rock. It is a privilege to hold a position as a governor at the school which continues to do much for my children Eleanor and Daniel, and for us as a family. I am very proud of White Rock and welcome the opportunity to give something back."

 

 ​Mark Glew - Chair of Governors
"After a brief career in accountancy I have been in education for the past 20 years. With my main subject specialisms Business and Economics I have worked in a wide range of schools, from grammar to independent and comprehensive to international. With my family I have been able to combine my love of teaching and travel with jobs in Singapore, Shanghai and Malaysia before recently moving into Torbay. I have two boys that started at White Rock in 2014; moving to a new area with a young family is always an uncertain time but the school community has been wonderfully supportive and the boys are extremely happy and love coming to school. With experience in school leadership, a governor position in a previous school and a financial background, I hope I can contribute something back to the school and play a small part in helping all students thrive and achieve their full potential."

TERMS OF OFFICE:

Governor

Role in the Governing Body

Term of Office

End Date

Attendance Rate

Mark Glew

Chair of Governors

Responsible for monitoring pupil premium and Maths

19/01/20

100%

Alison Down

Parent Governor

Responsible for monitoring safeguarding and SEN

25/09/22

100%

Shaun Richards

Parent Governor

 

25/09/22

100%

Jo Beer

Parent Governor

 

6/11/2022

100%

Guy Boosey

Parent Governor

19/01/20

100%

Sarah Jarrett

Staff Governor

 

80%

Amber Barnett

Co-opted Governor

6/11/2022

100%

Sarah Tomkinson

Headteacher

upon resignation

100%

Susie Cormac

Partnership Governor

31/01/2023

100%

WHITE ROCK PRIMARY SCHOOL GOVERNOR REGISTER OF PECUNIARY INTERESTS MARCH 2019:

Name

Current Employment

Details of business, charity trustee or any other conflict

Personal interests of close family working within the school

Details of other Governor position held at another school

Sarah Tomkinson

Head Teacher

None

None

None

Sarah Jarrett

Deputy Head Teacher

None

None

None

Mark Glew

EF Academy 

None

Sharon Glew – Wife is a Teacher

None

Guy Boosey

Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust

None

None

None

Shaun Richards

University of Exeter and Pearson

None

None

None

Alison Down

Educational Welfare Officer

None

None

None

Jo Beer

Torbay Council

None

None

None

Susie Cormac

Retired

None

None

None

Amber Barnet

Babcock Education Welfare

None

None

None

 

Quick Links

Choose a link to visit.

Awards

View our Awards.

Top